A Restored Hope

I wish everything in life worked according to plan. I believe God wants you to enjoy life; to experience all the blessings this life has to offer. Sometimes it feels like your life is falling apart.

A high school friend was a star basketball player with a promising future. One night, he and another friend were drinking. After partying awhile my friend decided he was too drunk to drive so he gave the keys. I don’t know exactly how it happened. The accident totaled my friend’s car. The driver walked away; my friend hasn’t walked since.

Jairus, a religious leader, ignores all dignity and throws himself at the feet of Jesus (Mark 5:21-43). While the crowd gathers he pleads for Jesus to come heal his twelve year old daughter before she dies. As Jesus and the crowd travel to Jairus’ house an unnamed woman suffering from a hemorrhage reaches out to Jesus.

You are not alone in your hopeless situation. Open acceptance begins the process of freeing our hopelessness. Jairus was an acceptable member of society in an honorable position. The unnamed woman was rejected by society, and considered an outsider. Jesus treats both as equals. Regardless of where you’ve been or who you are, you are accepted.

Don’t lose yourself in your hopelessness. The unnamed woman exhausts every option, and still can’t find healing. Surreptitiously moving through the crowd she touches Jesus cloak. Immediately Jesus stops and reaches out to the woman. While Jesus is caring for the woman someone arrives to let Jairus know his daughter has died. I cannot imagine the hopelessness involved with the loss of a child. No matter how hopeless life can get Jesus cares for you, even if you don’t realize it yet.

Hope can only come out of facing our circumstances. When Jesus calls out, “Who touched me?” the woman was forced to face her situation. Jairus’ hope is restored only when his circumstance forces him to trust Jesus. Restoration comes when the woman exposes her faith.

A restored hope leads to new life. Your hope can be restored when you surrender to Christ. My friend’s hope was restored. He completed college, became a teacher, and started coaching basketball. I don’t know your experiences. Maybe you need your hope restored. Maybe you know someone who needs their hope restored. You are not alone.

It’s been awhile since I have written anything. I’ve been in a pretty desolate place emotionally and spiritually. Fortunately, I have someone in my life who has helped me face my circumstances and restore my hope. We all need someone. You cannot face your despondency alone. You need a faith community; a friend; a companion; someone who will help you face your situation and restore your hope. Reach out to someone. If you have no one else, reach out to me here. If you want to encourage someone join the conversation. Leave a reply.

About Tony Clyde

I am a father, brother, and son. Yet, that does not begin to define who I am. I am a speaker, trainer, mentor, and friend. Yet, I am not defined by what I do. I am a thinker, a skeptic, and a follower of Christ. Yet, I am not defining who I will become. I am simply doing my best to honor God and help others do the same.
This entry was posted in self-hate, self-image, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

